Following publication of the National Strategy for Higher Education in January 2011, a framework for reform within the Irish Higher Education landscape has been established. Included in that framework is a different type of university for Ireland – a Technological University. Three institutions in the Dublin region –Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT), Institute of Technology (ITB) and Institute of Technology, Tallaght (ITT) - have come together to explore the benefits of structured cooperation and collaboration and to jointly seek designation as a new unitary university, providing educational opportunities that are practice-based and research-informed.

DIT, ITB and ITT established a formal alliance in October 2011 and since then colleagues from the three institutions have been working together to develop a programme of work which will culminate in the submission of a joint application for designation as a Technological University.

In 2019 DIT, ITB and ITT became the Technological University Dublin, the first of its kind in Ireland


Browse the TU4Dublin Collections:

Universal Design in Higher Education in Transformation Congress 2018

Higher Education in Transformation Conference, Ontario, 2016

Higher Education in Transformation Conference, Dublin, 2015

Universal Design in Education Conference, 2015