Document Type

Book Chapter


Available under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike 4.0 International Licence



Publication Details

Bernard, J and Bates, C (2016) ‘Technological University City – moving, merging and managing the civic engagement mission’ in Goddard, J, Hazelkorn, E, Kempton, L and Vallance, P. Elgar, Cheltenham and Northampton, pp 180-200.


DIT’s roots lie in vocational education, as it grew out of a unification of several colleges around the city of Dublin, the first of which was established in 1887 (these included Colleges of Marketing and Design, Commerce, Technology, Music, and Catering). In 1992 these became Technological University City (DIT). DIT is now one of the biggest Irish Higher Education Institutions (HEIs). Technological University City is not currently recognised as a university under Irish law although it is a member of the European University Association; a process for designation is underway It offers a range of professional-oriented education and research programmes aligned with the European Qualifications Framework-equivalent levels five to eight (Higher Certificate, Degree, Masters, Doctoral degree). There are four Colleges - Engineering and Built Environment, Business, Sciences and Health, Arts and Tourism – and DIT has a Graduate Research School, several research institutes, centres and groups, and technology transfer and business incubation units. DIT has a tradition of engaging with employers, from arranging work placement opportunities for students to co-developing programmes with local industry to upskill their employees. DIT also has a strong tradition of engaging with its surrounding communities, often socio-economically disadvantaged inner-city neighbourhoods, to promote learning opportunities and access to higher education. Thirty percent of DIT students enter through non-standard routes; this includes mature students, students from socio-economically disadvantaged backgrounds, those with a disability and from further education.

Included in

Education Commons