Document Type



Available under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike 4.0 International Licence


Performing arts studies, Musicology

Publication Details

Released by Ergodos Records,

All music performed and arranged by Seán Mac Erlaine


Seán Mac Erlaine | Long After The Music Is Gone

“[An] extraordinary solo recording […] Mac Erlaine is consistently one of the most interesting and adventurous musicians of his generation, and his sometimes very abstract music has always preserved a human quality that engages audiences and wins him admirers in other genres.” - The Irish Times, October 2012

Ergodos is delighted to announce the release of Long After The Music Is Gone, the new album from Dublin-based woodwind instrumentalist and composer Seán Mac Erlaine. It’s an album of extraordinary ambience, rich with Mac Erlaine’s distinctive supple reed work and subtle electronics. With each track Mac Erlaine seems to channel the atmosphere of a space or vista, immersing us.

Conceived and recorded in rural Leitrim, Long After The Music Is Gone stands as a meditation on Irish landscape, dipping into the chants of Medieval mystic Hildegard von Bingen and the work of Irish philosopher John O’Donoghue. It’s all in the blood of this record, assimilated into a language of rare elegance and originality.

Clayography I - 1:37 [included here]

Truskmore - 4:13

Buried Light - 2:38

Clayography III - 1:34

A Curl in the Bonet - 1:41

Long After the Music Is Gone - 3:53

Clayography II - 2:47

Amhrán Na Leabhar - 5:29

Quarried Light - 4:42

O Vis Aeternitatis - 4:54

Arroo - 3:33

Basement Lullaby - 6:11


Music Network